Mentor Teacher

Yesterday my room for tutoring at the after-school program was changed. I am now maxwell.jpgteaching in the same room I student taught in more than a decade ago. I thought of my mentor teacher and how much I learned in that very room.

Today, my mentor teacher, Mrs. Debra Maxwell, retired after teaching since 1977. I am so grateful to Mrs. Maxwell who helped me find my “teacher voice” and who gave me such confidence in my ability as a teacher.

Thank you, Mrs. Maxwell! I love you! Thank you for helping me when I was new. When I am discouraged, I remember your passion. Your commitment to the students, your willingness to try new things and to always do what’s best for students in inspiring and I’m so grateful I got to learn how to be a teacher by watching and learning from you!

Leave a Reply

