Small Groups and Independent Work

I read a post over at Cult of Pedagogy last week about using Playlists in instruction and I thought it was just what I needed in my Math 6/7 class. Today was the second day and as the class worked independently or with each other (depending on what part they were working on) I was able to pull small groups and work with students. It worked really well and I’m excited to adjust the playlist idea and make it work for my other classes too. My students like the freedom to work on whatever they’d like to and I feel like I have more time to work with students. If a student needs to ask me something and I’m busy, they can make a note in the playlist and pick another activity to work on while waiting. No line of students waiting next to me!

Leave a Reply

