After School Programs and Math

Sitting in a seat

Facing a screen and a wall

Away from a friendly face

No assurance that I can do this at all

The structure is unknown, untrusted, but tried

When the answer is correct, I’m surprised

I have no idea why

It’s random

The list of steps is

L

O

N

G

and my mistakes are not few

Does my answer make sense?

Should it?

Does it?

Is it right?

That’s all that matters,

right?

***********************************

Math should inspire, excite and make sense

Math should be fun and cause conversation,

After-school or in-school, activities should build

understanding – build structure and sense.

Forced procedures aren’t fun for the learner or the guide.

************************************

I need a new angle on homework for my after-school students. My last post was about things that need to change. I’ve got a handle on those changes. I can tell you, that I’m not about to do another day of after-school like I did today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

