Assessment for learning

I’m working on a longer post about how I’ve been using Google Forms for formative assessment. I am still trying new things (I will probably always be trying new things, but at some point I’ll stop and write the post), and I want to have a few more things to say before I post about it. It’s causing me to think more about the feedback students get, and how to provide that feedback in a way that’s meaningful and has a quick turn-around for me as the instructor. I think students need a lesson on what formative assessment is, they treat each grade as a final, unchangeable thing. And maybe in other classes it is. It isn’t in my class, and I need to convey that to students in a better way. After all, this is 6th grade; the students are only 11, and we’re learning in here!

Leave a Reply

