3 Act Task – Geared Up

This task is a hit every time I use it with students. And it was successful in every class today. We stopped just before sharing solutions and watching the reveal video. I both hate and love ending an activity at that point. Hate it because the math talk is getting really good and I don’t like interrupting that and love it because the students don’t want to leave!

I touched base with several students who have missed things in the flurry of new stuff to learn and figure out coming into middle school with a tech-heavy teacher. I’m impressed with how well my students are picking everything up and we’re finding a good rhythm.

Geared Up is a task from Graham Fletcher.

Updated 8.18.16 to add pictures of student work. Not all of these show correct work. However, I ask students to volunteer to show the class (via a document camera) their work. And I’m so glad that we get to see all kinds and talk about how we see the problem and how we can see each other’s thinking. Correct answers are nice, but we learn so much more when we discuss errors and/or question conclusions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “3 Act Task – Geared Up

  1. gfletchy August 17, 2016 / 11:03 am

    Right on Ms. Brunner! It’s always great to hear how/when these tasks are being used. And it’s even better to hear when it works out as planned.

    Is there any chance you could share some student solutions? I’d love to see your students thinking if at all possible.

    • mbrunnermath August 18, 2016 / 7:53 pm

      Sure! I took pictures of a few students who shared with us after I saw your request. I’m glad you asked. I’m working with students about how to show their thinking, and it will be good to see some of their work at the beginning of the year, and hopefully, I’ll see improvement as the year progresses.

      • gfletchy August 19, 2016 / 6:03 pm

        Absolutely! Always good to have them revisit the task on the same recording sheet they previously used and see what they would change. Have them use a different colored pen to track growth.

Leave a Reply

